Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (197) - TV Shows (60) - DVDs (181) - Books (8) - Music (2) - Games (4)

Hatchet II review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 11 November 2011 03:23 (A review of Hatchet II)

This sequel, which follows completely awesome and well done first movie, is just dreadful in comparison. Which means it's a huge letdown. They did slide in the replacement actress in a way that was pretty well done (though you do know fairly fast it's not the same girl)...but the special effects are atrocious, the plot is just awful, and it's extremely hard to sit through. Why bother? I feel like it's a huge waste of my time to sit through the other half of this movie that I haven't yet seen - and making it through the first half was a HUGE struggle, very hard to do. This movie doesn't capture my attention, doesn't make me want to watch it, and is just not worth it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cars 2 (2011) review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 3 November 2011 03:41 (A review of Cars 2 (2011))

I honestly expected more from this, as the first was so great (and I have seen the first many, many, many times!). But this one focuses on McQueen's friend Tow Mater more than I would have liked. WAY more. And it's all about yet another big race (big surprise), along with a parallel plot about spies, and the two story lines merge into one in a lesser sequel to a fantastic first.

Yes, the movie is quite enjoyable for children, but as an adult who is going to have to endure this time and time again, I really, really wish it was better. And the sequel has Eddie Izzard and Michael Caine, which made me happy, but the movie as a whole, if I had known it wouldn't be anywhere near as good as the first, I wouldn't have paid to see it, in 3D no less, in theatre, and as a result, I am not paying for it now that it's out on DVD and blu-ray.

Still a decent family movie, but darker than the first, and I don't know why family movies, or movies geared for children have taken this dark turn of late.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hoarders (2009- ) review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 3 November 2011 03:35 (A review of Hoarders (2009- ))

Hoarders is, hands down, one of the scariest (and grossest) reality shows I have watched, that I can remember. The show really makes me want to clean up my house, and has also made me realize that hoarding tendencies run in my family, which is quite scary.

The people shown in each episode are kind of devastating in their denial, each and every time, and sometimes they do not get the help they need, or the results that they wanted, in working with the show.

But, it sure makes you stop and think about what you have in your own home, and whether or not you have a need for it! And, I cannot stop watching, it is just so captivating, but also, hard to watch more than an episode or two in one sitting.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Season of the Witch review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 3 November 2011 03:32 (A review of Season of the Witch)

I pretty much expected this to be pure crap, so in that respect, I have not been disappointed. The movie opens with battle scene after battle scene, each apparently years apart, before Nicolas Cage and Ron Perlman desert their army in disgust over what they have done in the name of the church and God.

Now, Nicolas Cage, yes, he pretty much stinks in a lot of stuff he has done over the years. But I love Ron Perlman, and no matter how bad the movie, I generally have to watch if he's in it. He's fantastic, and definitely capable of better, so maybe he purposely lowers himself to match Cage's terrible acting.

The movie is kind of a train wreck, but one that once seen, you pretty much cannot easily look away from.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sucker Punch (2011) review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 3 November 2011 03:28 (A review of Sucker Punch (2011))

When I first saw a preview of this, I couldn't wait to watch it. When I finally got to sit down and watch it, I must admit, I haven't yet been able to sit through the entire thing. It's not good. And whoever told Vanessa Hudgens she could act is sorely mistaken, I have not liked her in anything I have seen her in. She really ruins her scenes - but overall, that doesn't really matter, as this is hard to watch, not very good, and really, I feel like I would be wasting my time to finish watching it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Red Riding Hood review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 3 November 2011 03:25 (A review of Red Riding Hood)

Despite all the (poorly written) mystery around the identity of the wolf, I was not at all surprised when that was revealed, as I had figured it out quite early on. This movie is mediocre, really. Not a strongly written story, not a good adaptation of the story, wholly predictable, and really, a shame to see people like Gary Oldman and Virginia Madsen, Julie Christie, and even Amanda Seyfried in this.

And the real shame of it is, I paid to see this in theatre, and it really, really, wasn't worth that price tag. I thought I might try and give it a second chance, but...I haven't been able to bring myself to suffer through it a second time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Grimm review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 2 November 2011 04:09 (A review of Grimm)

As soon as I saw a commercial for this show, I knew I had to watch it. I love fairy tales, and I love reading the Brothers Grimm stories, as they are dark (not like the Disney happier version). Grimm so far is pretty well done, it has drawn me in and left me anticipating the next episode, hoping it continues to be as smart and entertaining as the pilot.

Another show that brings fairy tale characters/monsters into our world, in a different way, and I so far, love it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Once Upon a Time review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 2 November 2011 04:07 (A review of Once Upon a Time)

I really love this show, and yes, it has only had two episodes aired to date, but it is extremely fascinating, well written, great cast. I am not a huge fan of Jennifer Morrison, but I think the pairing of her and Ginnifer Goodwin (despite the terrible haircut) was a good choice.

I love fairy tales, the darker version, and this show brings fairy tale characters to our world. I have enjoyed both aired episodes, both have left me wanting more, and I hate having to wait until Sundays for the next episode. I want them all NOW!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Puss In Boots review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 2 November 2011 04:02 (A review of Puss In Boots)

Much better than I expected, saw it in 3D, and there was some great detail. Very cute movie, yes it's predictable, but great for family viewing. Safe for younger viewers, it doesn't contain a lot of the darkness and overly violent content that some of the other "family" movies have.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Change-Up review

Posted : 7 years, 1 month ago on 29 October 2011 11:17 (A review of The Change-Up)

Things I love that this movies has:
Jason Bateman
Ryan Reynolds
body-switching story

Yes, I am a sucker for all three, and will pretty much watch anything that contains any one of those...combining all three into one? Well that made this a must-see. There is some pretty disgusting humour in this, and by that I mean, do not, at all, be eating during probably the first 10 minutes of this movie, lol. I was, and man, I wish I hadn't been.

Other than that, it was a cute, pretty decent story about the two men switching lives/bodies, and how they deal with it. I enjoyed it, and will probably watch it again, at least once or twice more. I think pretty much the only thing I didn't like, for most of the movie, and such a trivial thing, but it was Ryan Reynolds' hair :). Everything else, was good stuff. Not great, but good, entertaining, put a smile on my face.


0 comments, Reply to this entry