Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (199) - TV Shows (60) - DVDs (181) - Books (8) - Music (2) - Games (4)

The Change-Up review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 29 October 2011 11:17 (A review of The Change-Up)

Things I love that this movies has:
Jason Bateman
Ryan Reynolds
body-switching story

Yes, I am a sucker for all three, and will pretty much watch anything that contains any one of those...combining all three into one? Well that made this a must-see. There is some pretty disgusting humour in this, and by that I mean, do not, at all, be eating during probably the first 10 minutes of this movie, lol. I was, and man, I wish I hadn't been.

Other than that, it was a cute, pretty decent story about the two men switching lives/bodies, and how they deal with it. I enjoyed it, and will probably watch it again, at least once or twice more. I think pretty much the only thing I didn't like, for most of the movie, and such a trivial thing, but it was Ryan Reynolds' hair :). Everything else, was good stuff. Not great, but good, entertaining, put a smile on my face.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Flypaper review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 29 October 2011 02:49 (A review of Flypaper)

For me, this movie was utterly, completely, predictable, despite all the (many) twists and turns it took before it finally ended. My favourite characters in the movie were Peanut Butter and Jelly. Everyone else, well, they were really not well written. Just a middle of the road bank robbery gone wrong comedy that, while it is fast-paced and always taking a new turn, just isn't overly well done. Yes, it was somewhat entertaining, I don't regret sitting through it, but as soon as it ended, I was left feeling more than a little disappointed that, even with the cast it had, the movie didn't wow me.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Tourist review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 26 October 2011 07:44 (A review of The Tourist)

Totally predictable, with bad writing, "The Tourist" is a flat, barely watchable movie. I suffered through it because I was watching it with a friend...and because of Johnny Depp. But, I knew how it was all going to turn out right from the start, it is THAT predictable, and it wasn't even good enough to really have to suffer through.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Source Code review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 26 October 2011 07:42 (A review of Source Code)

I think, if you completely suspend belief and just enjoy the movie as it's presented, it's actually a mostly decent action/thriller/drama movie. If you start picking it apart, yes, it definitely falls apart, so I chose to suspend belief and just sit back and enjoy the story for what it was because I do enjoy both Jake Gyllenhaal and Vera Farmiga. It's a movie about time travel, about a man who wants to try and change the past but is told he can't...and what happens if and when he does try. And for that, it's an okay movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

It's Kind of a Funny Story review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 26 October 2011 07:37 (A review of It's Kind of a Funny Story)

Overall, a decent movie. A little slower paced, and off the wall, it definitely drew me in and kept me interested. A quieter comedy, that also deals with some more serious issues in the main character's life, but I quite enjoyed it. Not to say that I will really remember it as being spectacular, or even want to watch it again in the future, despite Zach Galifianakis and Lauren Graham, two people I love to watch.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Man Up review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 26 October 2011 05:57 (A review of Man Up)

I have seen the first two episodes of this new show now, and it's definitely entertaining, though I am not a huge fan of Dan Fogler. Despite that, the show is just funny enough, and engaging enough, to keep me watching (for now). I just wish Dan Fogler had less of a role. And it seems like they are trying to re-create the magic that occurred with "The League" with this show, but it's definitely not in the same category.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Peggy Sue Got Married review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 26 October 2011 05:54 (A review of Peggy Sue Got Married)

I love "Peggy Sue Got Married". I have seen it several times now, though I don't see how it can strictly be called a comedy. It does contain some comedic moments, but it's more of a drama than a comedy. Yes, the movie is a bit dated now, but Kathleen Turner is great in her role. It's one of those feel-good movies that you can just sit and watch time and time again, even though Nicolas Cage is a bit annoying in his role (not a huge fan).

The movie also has Jim Carrey, Joan Allen, and Helen Hunt, among others in it, in smaller roles, but they all do a great job with their parts.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Everything Must Go review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 24 October 2011 03:51 (A review of Everything Must Go)

A fairly decent drama starring Will Ferrell as a man who loses everything in one day, and how he deals with it, accepts it, and moves on. Nothing overly special, or memorable once it's over, but definitely a solid film worth a watch. It's got a good story, a good cast, and was also, amongst the sadness of the man's life, entertaining in the right places.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Terra Nova review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 24 October 2011 03:28 (A review of Terra Nova)

I finally watched the first episode of this show, after hearing some good things about it, and I wasn't disappointed. Terra Nova - so far - has a good story, good writing, and a solid cast, and is a show that draws you in, and leaves you wanting to see more.

I love science fiction that is well done, and Terra Nova basically fills the hole that was left when Battlestar Galactica finished up. Not sure it is as good, but it might just turn out to be, as time goes by.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I Am Number Four review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 23 October 2011 09:00 (A review of I Am Number Four)

To watch this movie once, it is mostly okay. Pretty bland, forgettable story, but it does have some decent action scenes. To sit through it a second time, however, is pretty untolerable. One time is all this movie deserves, or needs. And while it does leave you kind of hanging, I really hope they don't bother making a sequel. If they do, I will have to watch it, and I do not think that Alex Pettyfer is worth sitting through yet another movie for. It was a barely worthwhile story, not worth the price I paid for my movie ticket. The writing was juvenile and really needed to be a whole lot better. Timothy Olyphant did a good job, but since they killed him off, for me, there's really no point in ever bothering to watch another movie of this series, should one be made.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block