Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (199) - TV Shows (60) - DVDs (181) - Books (8) - Music (2) - Games (4)

Freeway Killer review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 15 November 2011 07:46 (A review of Freeway Killer)

It's a shame that this movie is so low budget and that the script isn't overly well written. I think Scott Anthony Leet does a pretty good job with what he was given, but overall, the movie plods along, and kind of loses and suspense and terror that it should have been able to build with a story like this. It felt kind of choppy in a few places, and just not well acted by anyone, including Michael Rooker, who has such a small part in the movie, I am thinking they got him to do this film so they would have a known name attached to it, and entice people to watch it.

The best acting job is done by the lead, Scott Anthony Leet, but it's a shame that this movie had such a crappy production value, script, and low budget. I would have loved to have seen him do the same role with a better script and a little more money (or at least, a better production).


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 15 November 2011 07:41 (A review of A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas)

I rated this movie 8/10 based on the fact that the second movie was not that great, and also on the fact that I saw this movie in 3D, which was amazing. The people responsible for this movie really made use of the 3D technology and that just raised the overall quality of the film, for me. I laughed pretty much all the way through it, loved Neil Patrick Harris (of course!).

Great comedy, good addition to the franchise, and it has so many things to enjoy, not the least of which is the cast: Kal Penn, John Cho, Neil Patrick Harris, Daneel Harris, Danny Trejo, Patton Oswalt, Thomas Lennon, Bobby Lee, Richard Riehle, etc....

I think any future viewings of this movie, if not in 3D, will definitely pale in comparison, because so many elements were specifically geared for the 3D visuals, but even still, it's pretty enjoyable. If this kind of humour is what you enjoy, and granted, not everyone does.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

How to Make Love to a Woman review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 13 November 2011 10:03 (A review of How to Make Love to a Woman)

Awful, terrible, piece of garbage. A shame, really, considering that some good talent is in it (Ken Jeong, Ian Somerhalder, Eugene Byrd). But Krysten Ritter is overly annoying and completely untalented, and unfortunately, her role is pretty big, so it's hard to ignore her. Josh Meyers is just okay, but I guess that has a whole lot to do with the piece of garbage script. I mean, just looking at the poster for this movie, you know it's not going to be great, but I kind of thought it might be a bit better than it was. Then again, I always tend to forget how bad of an actor Krysten Ritter is.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Faces In The Crowd review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 13 November 2011 08:47 (A review of Faces In The Crowd)

Interesting concept, and for the most part, a pretty decent movie, but it's easily figured out, plus it gets way too lame and sentimental at the very end, so it started to fall apart somewhere around the middle of the movie. Plus, the acting for the most part, was pretty dreadful. Milla Jovovich did a good job, almost the entire time, and so did Julian McMahon, who I love to see on either the big or small screen.

Other than that, because of the "face blindness", there were way too many different people playing the character's friends and people she repeatedly encountered for me to really care about any of them, and the doctor (H. Langenkamp, which, admittedly, as a fan of the Nightmare on Elm Street series, made me chuckle because Heather Langenkamp is the original Nancy in that series), her voice was just annoying, plus Marianne Faithfull's face looks like it was about to fall off or something, she was hard to look at.

Overall, not good. But if you can enjoy most of a movie and endure the crappy predictable ending, then it's about average. Nothing more.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Nightmare on Elm Street review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 12 November 2011 09:43 (A review of A Nightmare on Elm Street)

This movie just makes me SO mad, start to finish. First of all, it's terrible. Bad writing, bad acting, just bad. Second, no one should be allowed to play Freddy Krueger but Robert Englund...and then to play him SO badly?

Okay, next, is shifting the focus from ONE main character (Nancy), to making her the last character the movie really focuses on, after all the others are killed off...we learn bit and pieces of the story with each character, as an audience, but that doesn't mean the surviving characters get to learn everything until cornering their parents in the dumbest, most idiotic argument I have ever seen (Nancy and her mom).

This should have been left alone. The original franchise is awesome, and should have been left as it was, instead of introducing this piece of garbage into the world with people who look like they are approaching 30 (especially Katie Cassidy, who despite being apparently only 25 looks like she's 30, and her "mom" in this movie looks like her sister, not her mom) playing high school students.

Yes, the movie has some recreations of scenes from the original, which I was glad to see, but in the midst of a terrible, awful movie, it all just made me angrier really. Murders out of order, a horrible Freddy who is just annoying more than anything else. A weak Nancy who is more of an after-thought than the main focus of the movie. Lame, lame, lame. I have seen this twice now, and it just made me even angrier the second time through than it did the first time. I cannot believe time and money was wasted to produce this, or that some people are moronic enough to think this is good, let alone BETTER than the original. This remake is like slapping Wes Craven, Robert Englund, and all the rest of the original cast in the face, repeatedly.

I am never, ever watching this piece of shit again. I love horror movies, but this, aside from everything else, isn't even scary, has none of the charm or wit of the original, and Robert Englund's Freddy scared me silly when I was younger and watching the original movies for the first time (and even for the second and third times!).


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Social Network review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 11 November 2011 10:23 (A review of The Social Network)

While this movie might be well written, well acted, and a good telling of the story, it only served to make me angrier and angrier at the main character, who is also a real life person who is widely disliked. I remember reluctantly joining Facebook in 2007, being so very opposed to the whole idea at the time, and hating hearing people talking endlessly on buses and in public about Facebook, and saying idiotic things like "Facebook me"...then I just sat through a movie and watched the evolution of a site I had no interest in and avoided like the plague.

Why did I crack? Because a fellow hold-out cracked in order to see baby pictures from a friend. I joined the insanity because she did. Now I wish, more than ever, that I hadn't, after watching this movie, and watching how M.Z. apparently screwed over anyone to create the site, including his best friend. Nice. If I weren't such an addict, and needing to be on the site for family and friends to reach me because they are all on there, I would leave right now.

This movie just pissed me off. I don't care about whether it was good or not. Taking my personal feelings out of the equation, sure, it was good. It was well written. It had some great acting, but...He's not a good person, and to have Rashida Jones' character at the very end of the movie tell him he's not an asshole...well, I am sorry, but I don't know how you could hear that story and not think he's an asshole/tool/douchebag/jerk, etc.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

6 Souls review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 11 November 2011 07:34 (A review of 6 Souls)

Surprisingly, not bad...at least, until the movie gets heavily religious once the mystery starts to really be revealed. And heavily religious movies (like, if you don't believe in God, something bad can and will probably happen to you), I do not enjoy as much. I hate it when movies are trying to push the religion on the viewers. Ruins the whole experience.

But, until that point, it was intriguing, interesting, and fairly well written. I love Jonathan Rhys Meyers, and have, ever since I remember first seeing him in "Gormenghast" (which he was excellent in), and he was excellent here as well. I loved that Frances Conroy was in the cast, even if in a smaller role. Overall, well worth the watch, but the movie fell apart after all the religiousness, and then it became very predictable right up until the very end, where they basically leave you hanging and roll the credits. Such a shame, and a cop out.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Idle Hands review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 11 November 2011 04:56 (A review of Idle Hands)

Words cannot express how much I love this movie. Okay, so it's not, at first glance, really very good. But it is so awesome for so many reasons: it's a horror/comedy; Seth Green; the totally cheesy but awesome lines...so well written, despite the totally crap story line about the possessed hands. That crappy story line brought to life on screen with the cast and in the way it was brought to life, is somehow, just awesome to watch, again and again, and again.

I bought this movie back when it was on VHS. Then again on DVD. I cannot have a movie collection that does not include this movie. I have seen it so many times, I think it's getting up there with how many times I have seen "Gone with the Wind", any Disney movie, and "The Rocky Horror Picture Show". Some movies don't have to be masterpieces to be awesome. They are awesome just because of every little thing that makes it what it is.

From start to finish, I love this movie. Yes, Devon Sawa and Jessica Alba aren't good actors. That doesn't get in the way of enjoying this for one second. And I only love it more each and every time I watch it!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hall Pass review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 11 November 2011 04:45 (A review of Hall Pass)

Just another average, totally forgettable once you walk away, comedy. Nothing special about it, and it has nothing to make you really want to recommend that others spend their time/money on it. Just something to watch if it happens to be on and there's nothing better around at the time. Yes, there are a bunch of familiar faces, which is probably what brought a lot of people to see it, but in the end, it's just predictable, fairly flat, and just...forgettable.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Just Go With It review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 11 November 2011 04:41 (A review of Just Go With It)

Okay, so I just found out how forgettable this movie is. I found it in a folder of movies to watch, found a place in it that I kind of remembered seeing, and resumed watching, only to find out that, yes, I had actually seen the entire movie start to finish a few months ago. I just couldn't remember it until I saw it again.

Is this movie good? No, not really. It's middle of the road, average, romantic comedy fare. A chick flick with Adam Sandler and Jennifer Aniston. The movie has the standard rom com formula, and is kind of amusing, but you know you've seen it all before. I watched it because I generally enjoy the two lead actors. Watching it again, even from the halfway through - I was rolling my eyes at the stupidity of the jokes.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block