Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (199) - TV Shows (60) - DVDs (181) - Books (8) - Music (2) - Games (4)

The Invention of Lying review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 27 November 2011 06:25 (A review of The Invention of Lying)

I really quite enjoy this movie. I just watched it for a second time, and yes, there are some issues - like how, the people don't just tell the truth, they actually seem to feel the need to vocalize everything they are thinking - but overall, I just love the idea of the innocence of a world where no one lies...and then having that world exposed to one person who discovers he can say things that aren't true.

Jennifer Garner and Ricky Gervais are well matched, and she plays her role very well. I just think this movie was well done from the writing, to the casting, to the acting. And when it came out, I was working in a video store, and it was one of the movies that was rented a lot that came back with the most positive reviews from all different types of people.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Our Idiot Brother review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 27 November 2011 04:09 (A review of Our Idiot Brother)

Overall, I am more than a little disappointed with this whole movie. I love Paul Rudd. I also really enjoy Elizabeth Banks, Zooey Deschanel and Kathryn Hahn, but in this movie, not one of them delivers what I would say was a good performance. Barely even half decent. I didn't like a single one of the characters, there was nothing that made me want to remotely care for any of them, except maybe Paul Rudd's character, just a little, but even that was barely a flicker.

Why bother watching a movie that doesn't really engage you or make you care about, or want to care about, any of the people you're spending your good time watching? You shouldn't. This is one that should just be avoided, really. Watching something else with any of those great comedic actors, guaranteed it'll be better.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Easy A review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 24 November 2011 03:46 (A review of Easy A)

Despite its average, many-times-seen-before plot line(s), I really enjoyed this movie. It reminded me of watching 80's movies most of the time, it was cute and funny. Not overly special or fantastic, but definitely time well spent. I loved Emma Stone, and while I didn't quite buy Amanda Bynes as a high school student in this (and her acting was kind of terrible compared to the others in the film), the cast was decent.

It's a movie good for some laughs, though I am not sure I would buy that any of the actors were high school students, probably because they have been seen playing college students elsewhere. I enjoyed this enough to keep it around at least long enough to watch it again down the road.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Moscow on the Hudson review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 24 November 2011 03:37 (A review of Moscow on the Hudson)

I absolutely love this movie, and have since the first time I saw it, years ago. I have seen it many, many times, and it never loses its charm. Robin Williams does an excellent job in this dramatic comedy. I can't really say more, other than that this should be seen and enjoyed by everyone. The only thing I do not absolutely like is Maria Conchita Alonso, who is supposed to be playing an Italian immigrant, and I do not believe it at all. Other than that, I love everything about this movie. It's touching, charming, funny, a little sad, and overall, just fantastic :)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 19 November 2011 10:21 (A review of You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger)

This movie is downright awful. It plods along, filled with a bunch of characters who all seem to place no value in their marriages, all looking elsewhere for companionship outside of their marriages/relationships. Disgusting enough. Then, to top it off, the movie is narrated! Because what a slow moving, plodding, dull "comedy" needs, is narration to help move the story along? Nope, it just tells us that someone's not being totally honest, then takes us back and SHOWS us what we haven't yet seen, with the voiceover as an added "benefit".

None of the characters are likeable, I don't care one bit for any of them, and it was just a complete chore to have to sit through this until the end, which I did, because I kept hoping it would get better, with the cast it had - it should have been MUCH better, but was just a dismal dull waste of my time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Get Him to the Greek review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 19 November 2011 06:13 (A review of Get Him to the Greek)

I just sat through this for a second time, because I was unsure whether I had seen the entire movie previously. Turns out, I had, and so while this movie is pretty forgettable, to me, it does have some good moments. The songs, while ridiculous, are well written, and entertaining. The script is pretty good, especially for a spin-off. I don't much care for either Russell Brand or Jonah Hill, but together, they make this movie work.

Overall, a little better than just average, but definitely not overly memorable in the long run, so I think two viewings is more than plenty for my lifetime :). But it's worth watching if you like ridiculous comedies, even if you've never seen "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", who is briefly seen in this movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Butterfly Effect 2 review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 16 November 2011 05:31 (A review of The Butterfly Effect 2)

This sequel is downright dreadful. Lacks any of the creativeness, suspense, etc. that the original had. The original was a new idea, and a well-told story. For this sequel, they changed the way the main character is able to travel through time from words to pictures, and we barely saw anything of his life, we barely get anything from the characters that might cause us to care about them in any way, and the movie just plods along without seeming to care whether the audience is going to be engaged, or care what happens, until the very ridiculously stupid, predictable conclusion.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

My Soul to Take review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 15 November 2011 10:23 (A review of My Soul to Take)

Not only was Wes Craven the director, he was also the writer, and this is shocking, because this movie is just not good. Definitely not good enough to be something from the mind of Wes Craven, who I love. I sat through this movie in theatre, in 3D, and what a waste of money. Yes, I thought it was okay, but it was totally predictable, and then the more I thought about it after walking away from the friend I saw it with (who has terrible taste and loved it), I realized, I didn't like it and regretted paying money to see it.

The movie plods along until a wholly predictable conclusion. It isn't scary, it's not interesting, it's just a mish-mash of stuff that has been done and seen more than once before, and includes a bunch of unknown young actors who I don't care for, as they all appear to be totally lacking any acting talent.

Might not be their fault, entirely, given that the script was just terrible, but still...I think it's just an overall combination of bad from every possible corner that makes this movie flop. And it's not even one of those, this is so bad it's good movies. It's just bad and shouldn't exist, shouldn't be seen.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cop Out review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 15 November 2011 10:13 (A review of Cop Out)

This movie is just hard to watch. It's not that funny, and it's a shame, with Kevin Smith's name attached to this project. Tracy Morgan is not a good actor, he's one dimensional. He is always the same bloody character, and it's quite boring to watch over and over again. I wouldn't even watch anything he was in, except that he's in some stuff that I quite enjoy despite his presence (like "30 Rock").

The writers of this piece of garbage should be ashamed, and anyone in it should be embarrassed to have their name attached to this. It's just garbage, not funny, tired, boring, hard to watch drivel. A huge waste of time, and I am not even going to bother finishing it, as it's just a struggle to even sit through.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Going the Distance review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 15 November 2011 09:01 (A review of Going the Distance)

I love Drew Barrymore and Justin Long, and the pairing of these two is sweet, cute, and really makes sense. "Going the Distance" is a sweet, better than average romantic comedy, which is heavy on the comedic moments in a really good way. I laughed hard in some spots - Justin Long's best friends, played by Jason Sudeikis and Charlie Day, were a really smart choice, and just made this film a lot better than it probably would have been without them and their comedic timing.

It's standard romantic comedy fare, but definitely has some re-watchability, unlike a lot of the newer ones coming out these days. This isn't to say it's probably not somewhat forgettable given some time away from it, but I would definitely watch it again, and keep it in my collection when I want to watch something I know will make me laugh/put a smile on my face.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block