Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (199) - TV Shows (60) - DVDs (181) - Books (8) - Music (2) - Games (4)

Paul Blart: Mall Cop review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 11 December 2011 04:57 (A review of Paul Blart: Mall Cop)

This is one of the worst movies I ever had the unfortunate displeasure of sitting through. Sadly, I worked at Blockbuster when it came out, and made it a point to watch as many titles as I could, and this was one of them...and no one I worked with enjoyed it. Nor did any of the people who rented it. After about two weeks, it wasn't renting. Then, it didn't sell, and we had 150 copies sitting there, not moving, because this was a wildly terrible, unpopular movie that was so bad no one wanted to buy it even when it was dirt cheap.

This shouldn't even exist, shouldn't have been made, and no one should ever, ever, be forced to watch it. Ever.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cloverfield review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 11 December 2011 03:41 (A review of Cloverfield)

I quite enjoyed this both times I saw it. Yes, the cast is full of some lesser known, to probably unknown, actors, and yes, the camera work is shaky, but that's because it's supposed to be shot by a guy with a handheld camcorder, who is filming as they are running for their lives. I really like that realistic touch, and anyone who moans about it, just doesn't appreciate why it was done.

Does the movie make 100% perfect sense? No. I would have liked more explanation, but seriously, everyone's busy running for their lives, not taking a huge chunk of time out to stop and explain exactly why what's happening is...happening. It's a great sci-fi/action flick, is very enjoyable, has a little bit of re-watchability (not much though), and is just good entertainment.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Escape from the Planet of the Apes review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 11 December 2011 01:19 (A review of Escape from the Planet of the Apes)

I love how cheesy this seems compared to today's movies, and the fact that the outdated aspects of the movie (giving a pregnant woman alcohol, for example), do not take away any of the enjoyment of this movie, the third in the Planet of the Apes franchise. Cornelius and Zira grow on you through each successive movie, and you want to see them live...

This movie also has a younger Eric Braedon, as well as Sal Mineo, and Ricardo Montalban. It's not the best movie, nor does much really happen in the whole thing, but it's still good entertainment.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Rise of the Planet of the Apes review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 11 December 2011 01:14 (A review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes)

Okay, I loved this movie. It moved at just the right pace for an action movie, kept the suspense high, and things moving along perfectly. John Lithgow was excellent, and I don't know why this movie had some negativity thrown its way. It was very, very well done in every way. The effects were fantastic, the throwbacks to the original were fantastic and fun - I love the references to the original movie, and I love that they kept it so that the first word spoken by an ape was "No" (mentioned in "Escape From the Planet of the Apes").

I am a huge fan of the series, having seen all the movies (except the remake of the original, which I have seen once or twice) several times over, mostly during marathons, and I love it. This newest film in the franchise is just awesome, it had me tearing up at the treatment of the apes, it had me in awe, and I just loved it, start to finish.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Margin Call review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 10 December 2011 09:20 (A review of Margin Call)

It's a shame, with a cast as jam-packed full of talent as this is, the subject matter is so dry and dull. I sat through a little more than half an hour, so I did give it a pretty fair chance, but boy...was it ever dull and putting me to sleep. I am sure, for someone who is really interested in listening to this stuff, it is a fantastic movie. The actors are fantastic in it, despite the dull nature of the movie. But I just cannot waste more of my time and risk falling asleep to something that doesn't interest me in the least.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I Hate My Teenage Daughter review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 10 December 2011 08:42 (A review of I Hate My Teenage Daughter)

Having seen the first two episodes of this now, I must say, I won't be surprised when/if this show gets cancelled. It's pretty middle of the road, not too smart or well written. The teenagers' behaviour is deplorable, and yes, I know that's the point, but do we really need more kids behaving terribly on TV, whether real or fictional, for our kids to see? And then to see them basically get away with everything they do because their mothers are allowing them to walk all over them?

It's disgusting, it doesn't make me laugh. I really like Jaime Pressly and Katie Finneran, and in this, together, without anyone else around, they are the best part of the show and what brought me back to watch the second episode...and will keep me watching while it exists, which I don't think will be very long. They should have been given a better show without the crappy premise, the disgusting teenage behaviour, and the lame ex-husband of Jaime Pressly's character, who I do not like (and I am talking about the actor here---the character is supposed to be an overgrown teenager who isn't likeable).


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Life as We Know It review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 10 December 2011 08:37 (A review of Life as We Know It)

I finally sat down and watched this, have been looking forward to it for quite some time, and I definitely wasn't disappointed. Like most romantic comedies, it follows a pretty predictable formula, which you expect to see, so there were absolutely no surprises, but I do like the pairing of Josh Duhamel and Katherine Heigl. It's a well written, well cast and acted movie, it's very entertaining, moving, and perfect for when you're in the mood for sappy, emotional, romantic comedy fare.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Crazy, Stupid, Love review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 10 December 2011 08:34 (A review of Crazy, Stupid, Love)

Well, I have to say that this movie wasn't doing much for me other than helping me pass time while working out...until the "Dirty Dancing" moment. Then, like a sucker, I was drawn in, despite all the inevitable, predictable connections between the characters. This movie has a decent cast, though I do not like Analeigh Tipton. I found her to be quite unattractive, way too skinny with a big head, and just not a good actress.

I do enjoy Steve Carell and Emma Stone, and Marisa Tomei was fun to watch in this, though her part was a bit small and anyone could have played it. I don't honestly understand why women find Ryan Gosling attractive, other than, with his shirt off, he's in some pretty fantastic shape. But clothed? The movie as a whole was better than average, but not fantastic/excellent. It's watchable, for one viewing, then time to move on to something else.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Good Neighbors review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 4 December 2011 10:04 (A review of Good Neighbors)

I love Scott Speedman, in general. I think he's the reason I watched this without even knowing anything about it. When I saw it was a Canadian film, I kind of sighed...most times, Canadian made films are not that great (sadly). And this was one of those times. The movie itself was completely predictable, so all the supposed "mystery" around who the killer was, didn't exist for me. There was no suspense, no thrill, nothing to keep me guessing, and definitely nothing to make me care one bit about any of the completely awkward and bizarrely socially awkward/inept characters. Zero likability, no real personality, I didn't care. Yes, I watched the movie through to the end, but only because I was too lazy to shut it off, and I do like Scott Speedman. He was pretty good in this, despite everything else. But still, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Mangler review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 27 November 2011 08:17 (A review of The Mangler)

Boy, to say this movie is dreadful is kind of an understatement. Some of Stephen King's stories should really have just been left as stories in a book, instead of made into downright terrible screenplays, then having people who did an awful acting job cast in it (Ted Levine sounds like he's drunk or doesn't even know how to speak throughout the entire movie), and having this atrocity include Robert Englund in one of the worst written roles I have seen him do...all a fantastically terrible idea.

It was a huge struggle to sit through this, and while it did keep pretty true to the short story most of the time, I am sure that ANYONE else could have done a much better job in writing the screenplay, plus, waiting until a time when a better script was available, more money, or even, just better actors with a better script would have been a better idea than to produce this absolute piece of garbage that I didn't even want to sit through, and I am a total fan of both Robert Englund AND Stephen King. And Ted Levine made watching this movie into a complete chore, having to struggle to put up with his crappy brand of acting in this, the way he delivered the lines, all just terrible.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block