Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (199) - TV Shows (60) - DVDs (181) - Books (8) - Music (2) - Games (4)

Wrecked review

Posted : 5 years ago on 24 June 2012 08:19 (A review of Wrecked)

Interesting enough to keep me watching, but definitely not enough there to make me recommend it to anyone else, or ever watch it again. It had a good pace, good performances, but definitely predictable for most of the film. There was a twist toward the end, but then it just abruptly ends not long after the twist. Then again, there's not anything more that could have been done at the point it ended. The movie just kind of moved along from start to finish, with nothing overly engaging (I watched with only half my attention) to make it grab my full attention. And had I wanted to pay full attention to a movie, I would have stopped this and moved on to something better.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Clue review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 28 January 2012 08:41 (A review of Clue)

I absolutely love this movie. I have seen it countless times, and just re-watched it earlier tonight. Despite the fact that it is now...geez...getting close to 30 years old, it still holds up very well. The cast is fantastic, including such greats as Tim Curry, Eileen Brennan, Madeline Kahn, Christopher Lloyd, Martin Mull, Michael McKean, Lesley Ann Warren, and an uncredited Howard Hesseman.

Taking a board game and making a movie out of it, could have spelled disaster, but this is brilliant comedy at its best. I love it, and could watch this movie over and over again (and have!), and will, over the years to come!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Alcatraz review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 27 January 2012 06:23 (A review of Alcatraz)

Interesting concept, though it feels a little like "The 4400", "Crossing Jordan", and "Lost", with the air of mystery. Then again, it's a Bad Robot production. Not bad, so far, and I have seen the first two episodes. Definitely intriguing, though I can see how it might go sour after a while if they cannot keep it fresh and interesting (kind of like what happened to "Alias", another Bad Robot show).

But so far, it's good enough to keep me wanting to keep watching. Just enough mystery to hold most of my attention. Not strong enough to capture my full attention, though, so it might lose me if it doesn't give me more soon. I like Sarah Jones, so far, and having Jorge Garcia and Sam Neill gives it a strong cast. I hope this show survives and has some good story-telling to come with each new episode.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Law Abiding Citizen review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 27 January 2012 06:18 (A review of Law Abiding Citizen)

All right, so I sat down and watched this for the second time since it came out. I remember quite enjoying it the first time around, but other than how the movie opens, I couldn't remember much about it, at first. There are some amazing scenes where you are like, what the hell did I just see? One scene in particular, my friend replayed about four or five times, the last in slow motion. Amazing stuff, great action. Fantastic casting with Jamie Foxx, Gerard Butler, Colm Meaney, Bruce McGill, and even Leslie Bibb.

The movie is brutal, fast moving, action packed, and leaves you wondering what comes next, as well as feeling for Gerard Butler's character, at least at first. Awesome movie to watch again after a couple of years (enough time to basically forget the big moments and re-enjoy them). I still stand by the 8/10 star rating I gave it initially.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Hangover: Part II review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 18 December 2011 06:23 (A review of The Hangover: Part II)

I had read that this sequel was just a cut and paste of the original script, only that it takes place in Thailand this time, and now that I have seen it, that is pretty accurate. And the sequel lacks a lot of the charm, humour, and smart comedy that the original has.

While it's not Justin Bartha who is missing this time around, he is missing from all the craziness, and you can see why - his character is so flat and boring, it makes sense that he is barely seen or heard from in this. Any time he is seen on screen, it's kind of painful to have to listen to him, he's so dull.

The situations are ridiculous once again, but it's just not on the same level as the first movie, which I can watch again and again...and again, and laugh myself silly each time. This new movie, we had to keep pausing just to get through it in one night. It was tough to sit through, ridiculous in a not so good way, and really, not worth watching once...and definitely not a second time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Book of Blood review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 11 December 2011 10:05 (A review of Book of Blood)

It's always a shame when a fantastic, well written short story is turned into a not so good full length movie. I love Clive Barker's Books of Blood, and some of the short stories in those volumes have been turned into pretty decent (and better) movies. This one, however, was a huge disappointment. As soon as I found out the movie existed, I looked forward to watching it....but as soon as I had it and saw it, I wished I hadn't.

The short story is MUCH better, especially since Clive Barker is a genius at creating vivid mental pictures with his writing. I never have a problem conjuring up what he describes in my imagination, so it's a shame that the writers of this screenplay seem to have had a problem doing the same.

Overall, terrible.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Fright Night review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 11 December 2011 09:58 (A review of Fright Night)

Okay, remakes can either be good or bad, and this one was pretty damn good. I loved that Chris Sarandon got a small part in it, as he was "Jerry" in the original (which I love). It also made a lot of sense to me that I really enjoyed this when I saw that Marti Noxon (Buffy/Angel) wrote the screenplay, which makes me really happy. The effects were pretty awesome, the movie has the right mix of suspense, horror, and humor, all delivered at the perfect time. David Tennant was fantastic as Peter Vincent as well. I loved his job portraying that character.

I also loved the dig at "Twilight" between Anton Yelchin and Christopher Mintz-Plasse...who both also did great jobs with their roles. The movie had my heart beating, wondering what was going to happen next, and I purposely made sure not to have recently watched the original so that I could fully enjoy this movie. And I did. It will be a permanent addition to my movie collection, that's for sure!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Killer Inside Me review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 11 December 2011 07:21 (A review of The Killer Inside Me)

It's a shame this movie has such lower level talent as Kate Hudson and Jessica Alba for the women. They really detract from Casey Affleck's performance, and he does a great job in this. It's like the women, knowing they were only there for the purpose of being his punching bags, basically didn't bother trying to deliver even a decent performance.

Casey Affleck makes this movie much better than it otherwise would have been, but even still, it's barely better than average, and I don't really see what all the fuss is about.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 11 December 2011 05:44 (A review of South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut)

Wow, this movie is totally forgettable. At least, it is for me, as I know I saw it last year, and I am sitting here watching it now, and nothing looks familiar at all. If you're a big "South Park" fan, then this is definitely one to see, but if you mostly don't care about the show and don't go out of your way to see it, then I guess, don't bother.

I can't remember seeing anything that I am watching right now, but I can't say that I want to spend a second more of my time watching it again just in the hopes that it will job my memory. It's pretty much just a very long episode, and I can only stand (barely) watching the episodes.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hot Tub Time Machine review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 11 December 2011 05:26 (A review of Hot Tub Time Machine)

I believe I have seen this five or six times now, and I still love it as much now as I did the first time I sat down and saw it in theatre. I love 80's movies, I love time travel movies, I love John Cusack, and this has all three things in one. Yes, it's a movie that came out in 2010, but it takes place mostly in the 1980's, and it also has Crispin Glover and Chevy Chase, two very well known faces and names who were also big in the 80's (Glover playing Michael J. Fox's dad in the "Back to the Future" movies).

The movie is funny, well written, has not one dull moment. It always has something going on, is smart, doesn't overplay anything, and the cast is fantastic. This movie is one that never gets old with repeated viewings, and will live in my collection forever.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block