Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (199) - TV Shows (60) - DVDs (181) - Books (8) - Music (2) - Games (4)

Tooth Fairy review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 16 August 2011 01:05 (A review of Tooth Fairy)

I have to admit that I really like watching Dwayne Johnson in pretty much everything he does. Ashley Judd, I can do without, and her character could have been played by anyone. But this story about a hockey player made to be a tooth fairy for punishment, is charming, clever, and good fun to watch. I have seen it two or three times now, and it's going to be added to the permanent collection :)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Beastly review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 16 August 2011 01:00 (A review of Beastly)

This movie, as a whole, was pretty forgettable, awful, and badly acted/written. Neil Patrick Harris, as awesome as he is, didn't have a big enough part to really save the whole show. Mary Kate Olsen, aside from NPH, probably does the best job in the whole movie. Vanessa Hudgens is barely tolerable. This is a crappy adaptation of the Beauty and the Beast fairytale, churned out for the bubble gum teeny bopper crowd.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Big Top Pee-wee review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 15 August 2011 11:10 (A review of Big Top Pee-wee)

While the original movie is such fun to watch, many times over, I avoid this sequel like the plague. It is just awful, should never have been made, and is just such a waste of time, I cannot believe anyone ever even bothered to follow up Tim Burton's original with this opiece of garbage.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Because I Said So review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 15 August 2011 09:44 (A review of Because I Said So)

This movie is pure and utter fluff. Mandy Moore is not a good actor, and the story was kind of terrible. I love Lauren Graham, so that's pretty much the only reason I put the movie on in the first place, and stuck with it until the end. But everything about the movie is obnoxious and just awful, and no one should have to endure this. Ever.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Babel review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 15 August 2011 09:41 (A review of Babel)

"Babel" is a heavy, long movie, but it is quite well done, engaging, and worth sitting through at least once. Everyone in the movie does an excellent job, though Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett's parts pretty much could have been played by anyone, and maybe they would have appealed better, shone more, or had the quality that was just missing against everyone else, and the very powerful, well written storyline. Sometimes movies with interlocking stories just fall flat, aren't written well, but that is definitely not the case here.

That all being said, I think one watch in a lifetime is enough for this movie. It's so long, I don't know if I could have the patience to sit through it a second time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An American in Paris review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 15 August 2011 09:32 (A review of An American in Paris)

I love Gene Kelly and Leslie Caron, and the pairing of the two in this film is just a wonderful thing to watch. This movie has some of the most amazing scenes, I love the choreography, the music. Who cares if the story is a bit flimsy - everything else is so beautiful to watch, there's a reason this movie is a classic, an Oscar winner, and on more than one top 100 list made by the American Film Institute.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Finding Nemo review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 15 August 2011 09:29 (A review of Finding Nemo)

Because I have a young child, I have seen "Finding Nemo" many, many (many!!) times, as children love to watch the same thing over and over. Sometimes, depending on the movie, this gets to be very annoying for the adult(s) in the room. When it comes to "Finding Nemo", however, with repeated viewings, the movie does not lose any of its charm or entertainment value. Yes, you know what's coming, but this is one of my favourite Disney/Pixar movies. It's well written, a great story that ends happily (of course), has some excellent voice talent, the characters are just easy to like, or even, love, and the animation is superb. I cannot wait to upgrade this one to Blu-ray and see it again (and again)!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Ricky Gervais Show review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 15 August 2011 09:23 (A review of The Ricky Gervais Show)

This is, by far, one of the funniest shows I have ever seen. Perhaps even the funniest, as I cannot remember ever laughing so long and so hard for almost the entire duration of any show I have ever seen. Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant ask Karl Pilkington random questions, and then when Karl Pilkington starts to talk, it is some of the most random bizarre nonsense that comes out of Karl's mouth.

When I saw the first season, I was with friends, and we all laughed so much, we just couldn't stop. Then we re-watched some of the episodes later to catch the bits we missed while laughing, and we just kept laughing, not only at what we had missed, but even at the stuff we knew was coming, because it is so absolutely ridiculous, the things that Karl says, thinks, and the ideas he comes out with....then you pair it with animation to illustrate the stories told, and it's pure genius.

I am only now starting the second season,, but I can so far say, I am in no way disappointed. It has started off strong, and just as good and entertaining as the first season!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Unstoppable review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 15 August 2011 01:00 (A review of Unstoppable)

Overall, not a bad movie. Despite the fact that you figure you know how it will all turn out, there is still enough suspense, nicely built up. While I am not a fan of Rosario Dawson, I must admit she did a decent enough job, and Chris Pine and Denzel Washington were also good. Decent enough story, definitely didn't feel disappointed in having paid to see it in theatre, and definitely intend to see it again at least once more time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tru Calling review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 13 August 2011 11:46 (A review of Tru Calling)

I really liked "Tru Calling" when it first started. It had an interesting premise, I like shows and movies that deal with time travel, and it was fairly well written, cast, and acted. However, once Jason Priestley was thrown into the mix, and the mystery around his character, Tru's dad, and the death of her mom was explored more, the show started taking a turn for the worse, and I wasn't enjoying it as much as I had previously.

Then it was cancelled with only 6 aired episodes of the second season, kind of left viewers hanging, and I really hate that, because I had been hoping it would turn around and go back to being as good as it had been when it initially aired. But it never got the chance. And don't get me wrong, I like Jason Priestley, I just didn't like what the addition of his character into the story did to the show.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block